VERENA FRIEDRICH

VANITAS MACHINE

Selected Artist

Verena Friedrich [DE]
Web • Fb • Vimeo

VANITAS MACHINE

VANITAS MACHINE addresses the desire for eternal life and the potential of life-prolonging measures.

Based on a candle which – by means of technical intervention – burns down very slowly, the installation creates a contemporary analogy to the endeavour of prolonging the human lifespan with the help of science and technology.

Being one of the classical vanitas symbols, a burning candle recalls the futility of the moment, the transience of human life and the certainty of the end of all existence. But is this end really still inevitable?

In the course of the last two centuries, average human life expectancy has increased significantly in the industrialised countries. Moreover, in the context of scientific research the biological causes of ageing are being explored. Numerous theories of aging have already been developed pointing both towards physiological as well as environmental factors.

One of the first theories of ageing was the so-called »rate-of-living theory«, which claims that the lifespan of organisms is reciprocally related to energy turnover and therefore connected to calorie intake, oxygen consumption and heart rate: The higher the metabolic rate, the shorter the lifespan of the organism.

In VANITAS MACHINE, a candle is placed in the centre of an experimental setup. Similar to the human breathing process, a burning candle consumes oxygen and produces carbon dioxide and water. The higher the oxygen and energy turnover, the shorter the burning time of the candle.

VANITAS MACHINE has been specifically developed to keep a candle”alive” under controlled conditions. By protecting it from environmental factors and by precisely regulating the oxygen supply the “metabolism” of the candle and thus its lifespan can be influenced.

Kapelica © Miha Fras
PRODUCTION

Technical realisation in collaboration with Lab3 – Laboratory for Experimental Computer Science, KHM – Supported by the Academy of Media Arts Cologne, Germany.

BIO

Verena Friedrich is a multidisciplinary artist creating time-based media installations in which organic, electronic and sculptural media come into play. Her work is driven by extensive research as well as direct hands-on experimentation with materials, forms and functions. She has actively collaborated with scientists and engineers and has been working in several bioscientific laboratories for the last few years of her practice, too. Through poetic installations, she translates complex issues into a tangible form and involves the audience on a conceptual and physical level, inviting them to explore existential topics related to (bio)technology, science and the body.

Her projects have been presented internationally in the context of exhibitions, media art festivals and conferences. She received the International Media Award for Science and Art from ZKM Karlsruhe 2005; a special mention in the VIDA 13.2 Art and Artificial Life Awards; an honorary mention in the Prix Ars Electronica 2015 and a jury mention in the Japan Media Arts Festival 2015. In recent years she undertook several research and production residencies in Québec/Canada supported by the “EMARE –  European Media Artists in Residence Exchange” and the „Pépinières Européennes“ program. In 2016 she received the lab.30 award for her installation THE LONG NOW which over the course of the last two years has been shown extensively in exhibitions throughout Europe, North America and Asia.

Verena Friedrich holds degrees from the Academy of Media Arts Cologne and the University of Art and Design Offenbach, both in Germany. She has been teaching at the University of Art and Design Offenbach and at the Bauhaus University Weimar.

RESEARCH ISSUES / INNOVATION

Using technological means, VANITAS MACHINE aims at making a candle burn as long as possible. By protecting it from environmental factors and regulating its “metabolism” the burning behavior can be influenced, thus increasing the lifetime of the candle.

The first step was to create a closed environment by putting the candle under a custom-made bell jar. The second was to manipulate the atmosphere inside the vessel: depending on the intensity of the flame, I control the supply of oxygen.

Analogue sensors such as oxygen and UV-sensitive flame sensors are used to monitor the burning process. Whenever the burning intensity drops below a certain level, a small amount of fresh air is supplied. As the candle burns down, sensors and air outlet port follow the position of the flame. This is done by using a custom-made construction for motorized height adjustment and in reference to the sensor data. The oxygen supply is regulated by a magnetic valve which is used to control the ow of air provided by an air compressor. The rhythmic clicking of the valve indicates the system ́s current «metabolic rate».

Furthermore, the candle is directly coupled with a digital precision scale – a weight cell to be more precise – which continously displays its remaining mass.

In normal room air, approximately 0,02 grams of wax are used up in one second. With the current setup, it is possible to prolong the lifetime of the candle of about 2,5 times.

VANITAS MACHINE is a work that I started to develop in 2013. I had done some research about the topics of immortality, time in general and the idea to manipulate individual time by means of biotechnology and medicine.

Coincidentally, I stumbled across a particular image – the picture of a so-called “candle clock”. It shows an ordinary candle that has been put into a metal holder with a scale. When the candle burns down, one can measure the passage of time based on the material consumption of the candle.

Furthermore, being one of the classical vanitas symbols, a burning candle also recalls the passage of time, the futility of the moment, the transience of human life and the certainty of the end of all existence. In general, a burning candle with its vivid yet elusive flame often stands for human life or the soul, while an extinguishing candle often symbolizes death.

So, symbolic meaning and function merge here. On the one hand, there is this direct link between organic material and time as depicted by the object of the candle clock, on the other hand a burning candle symbolically stands for human life, particularly a predetermined “lifespan”.

In the course of the last two centuries, average human life expectancy has increased significantly in the industrialized countries due to improved standards of living, hygiene and medical care. On the individual level, some are seeking to prolong their lifespan by means of nutrition, exercise and the intake of medicinal products. Moreover, in the context of scientific research the biological causes of aging are being explored. Aging and death have become biological phenomena to be studied and, potentially, conquered. So, symbolically, we are no longer passively watching the candle burn down any more, but are actively manipulating and intervening into this process by means of science and technology.

I then came across an interesting theory in the field of aging research: The “rate of living theory” – which was one of the first theories of aging – claims that the lifespan of organisms is reciprocally related to their energy turnover or metabolic rate. So by slowing down metabolism and the chemical reaction that goes with it – which is connected to a lower calorie intake, oxygen consumption and the heartrate – one could actually prolong the organismś lifespan.

As previously mentioned for the burning of a candle air is needed – oxygen, to be more precise. Interestingly, the chemical reaction which takes place during combustion bears certain similarities to human metabolism, particularly the breathing process. When we breath, we take up oxygen and together with the carbohydrates from the food we eat, it reacts to carbon dioxide and water, which we then ex-hale. During the combustion of a candle, the carbohydrates from the wax react with oxygen to carbon dioxide and water. In both cases, energy is released.

In reference to the rate of living theory, I realized that by reducing the oxygen supply I could slow down the process of combustion and energy turnover, and thus make it the candle “live” longer. So based the fact that the combustion of a candle can be compared to the human breathing process on a (bio)chemical level, I´m using the candle as model system to evoke the idea that the individual time of organisms can be manipulated by technical and (bio)chemical intervention.

During my research I became interested in the topic of aging and also studied related theories. There are many different theories of why organisms age which can be roughly divided into evolutionary, programmed and damage-based theories of aging.

The rate-of-living theory belongs to the damage-based theories of aging. It basically claims that the lifespan of organisms is reciprocally related to their (mass-specific) energy turnover or metabolic rate.

The higher the metabolic rate, the faster the biochemical activity, the faster an organism will age.

Numerous experiments on model organisms seemed to show evidence for this theory: for example, it has famously been shown that calorie restriction could significantly prolong the lifespan of rodents.

Further variations of the theory also point not only to calorie intake, but also towards the heart rate and oxygen consumption as related to metabolic rate and aging.

Only later did I realize that the rate-of-living theory was actually one of the very first theories of aging, and had been widely accepted throughout most of the twentieth century. It was originally inspired by the observation that larger organisms have a lower metabolic rate and at the same time often live longer.

Nowadays, the rate-of-living theory is rather controversial as certain observations seem to contradict it. But approaches such as calorie restriction are still a current topic in aging research and continue to be explored today.

I actually came across this theory in the chapter of a popular science book whose headline was: “the bright candle burns quicker”. So the connection between the “rate-of-living theory” and the object and symbol of the candle had already been made. Although the metabolism of live organisms is certainly much more complex than the burning process of a candle, there are certain similarities on the (bio) chemical level – for example when looking at combustion on the one hand and the breathing process on the other. This is why in my project, amongst other things, I’m using the candle as a kind of model “organism”, to evoke the similarities and differences between animate and inanimate matter and systems.

AWARD OF PRIZES AND DIFFUSION OF THE WORK

Première : V2_ TestLab, The New Institute, Rotterdam, NL – mai 2013
– Prix Ars Electronica, Honorary Mention, « Hybrid Arts » Category– 2015
– 19. Japan Media Arts Festival, Jury Selection – 2015
– Cologne Design Prize, Nomination – 2013
Cinema 2.0 : The Phantom Machine, ifva Festival, Hong Kong Arts Centre, Hong Kong – 2017
DIE, AND BECOME! Art and Science as the Conjectured Possible“, Laznia Center for Contemporary Art, Gdansk, Poland – 2016
VANITAS MACHINE (Solo), Kapelica Gallery, Ljubljana, Slovenia – 2014
– Atelier #51, Experimental Platform for the Arts, PACT Zollverein, Essen, Germany – 2013
– Cologne Design Prize, Museum of Applied Arts, Cologne, Germany – 2013
VANITAS MACHINE | CELLULAR PERFORMANCE (Solo), Max Planck Institute for Biology of Ageing, Cologne, Germany, 2013
– Annual Show, Academy of Media Arts Cologne, Germany – 2013
TestLab, V2_, Institute for the Unstable Media, The New Institute, Rotterdam, NL – 2013

FollowFb.Tw.
...

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!

VERENA FRIEDRICH

VANITAS MACHINE

ARTISTE SÉLECTIONNÉE:

Verena Friedrich [DE]
Web • Fb • Vimeo

VANITAS MACHINE

VANITAS MACHINE aborde la question du désir de vie éternelle et du potentiel des moyens pour prolonger la vie. Fondée sur une bougie qui se consume très lentement grâce à une intervention technique, l’installation crée une analogie contemporaine à la tentative de prolonger la durée de vie humaine grâce à la science et à la technologie.

En tant que l’un des symboles de vanitas classique, une bougie qui se consume rappelle la futilité de l’instant, la brièveté de la vie humaine et la certitude que toute existence a une fin. Mais cette fin est-elle véritablement inévitable ?

Durant les deux siècles derniers, l’espérance de vie humaine moyenne a augmenté de manière significative dans les pays industrialisés. De plus, dans un contexte de recherche scientifique, les causes biologiques du vieillissement sont explorées. De nombreuses théories sur le vieillissement ont déjà été développées qui mettent en lumière à la fois les facteurs physiologiques et environnementaux.

L’une des premières théories du vieillissement est la «théorie du rythme de vie» qui prétend que la durée de vie des organismes est relative au renouvellement d’énergie, et par conséquent connectée à l’apport calorique, à la consommation d’oxygène et au rythme cardiaque: plus le métabolisme est élevé, plus la durée de vie de l’organisme sera courte.

Dans VANITAS MACHINE, une bougie est placée au centre d’un montage expérimental. De manière similaire au phénomène de respiration humaine, une bougie qui brûle consume de l’oxygène et produit du dioxyde de carbone et de l’eau. Plus le renouvellement d’oxygène et d’énergie est élevé, plus la durée de combustion de la bougie est courte.

VANITAS MACHINE a été développé spécifiquement pour maintenir une bougie « en vie » sous des conditions contrôlées, en la protégeant des facteurs environnementaux et en régulant précisément l’apport d’oxygène du « métabolisme » de la bougie pour influencer sa durée de vie.

Kapelica © Miha Fras
PRODUCTION

Technical realisation in collaboration with Lab3 – Laboratory for Experimental Computer Science, KHM– Supported by the Academy of Media Arts Cologne, Germany.

BIO

Verena Friedrich est une artiste multidisciplinaire qui crée des installations media basées sur le temps dans lesquelles des médias organiques, électroniques et sculpturaux entrent en jeu. Elle a activement collaboré avec des scientifiques et ingénieurs et également travaillé dans de nombreux laboratoires bio-scientifiques durant les dernières années de sa pratique. Au travers de ses installations poétiques, elle aborde des problèmes complexes et fait participer le public à un niveau conceptuel et physique, en l’invitant à explorer des thématiques existentialistes relatives à la (bio)technologie, à la science et au corps.

Ses projets ont été présentés à l’international dans le contexte d’expositions, de festivals d’art médiatique et de conférences. Elle a reçu le Prix Media international pour la science et l’art de ZKM Karlsruhe en 2005, une Mention spéciale aux Prix de l’art et la vie artificielle du VIDA 13.2; une Mention honorifique aux prix Ars Electronica 2015 et une Mention du jury lors du Media Arts Festival 2015 du Japon. Durant ces dernières années elle a entrepris différentes recherches et résidences productives au Québec/Canada soutenues par «EMARE – European Media Artists in Residence Exchange» et via le programme « Pépinières européennes ». En 2016, elle a reçu le prix lab.30 pour son installation THE LONG NOW qui a été montrée de nombreuses fois durant les deux années dernières à travers des expositions en Europe, Amérique du Nord et Asie.

Verena Friedrich est diplômée de l’Académie des arts médiatiques de Cologne et de l’Université d’art et de design d’Offenbach. Elle a enseigné à l’Université de l’Art et du design à Offenbach et à l’Université Bauhaus de Weimar.

Enjeux de recherche / Innovation

En utilisant des moyens technologiques, VANITAS MACHINE a pour but de faire se consumer une bougie le plus longtemps possible. En la protégeant des facteurs environnementaux et en régulant son «métabolisme», le facteur de combustion peut être influencé de façon à allonger la durée de vie de la bougie. La première étape a été de créer un environnement clos en mettant la bougie dans une cloche de verre fabriquée sur commande. La seconde a été de manipuler l’atmosphère dans le récipient: je contrôle l’apport en oxygène en fonction de l’intensité de la flamme.

Des capteurs analogues, comme l’oxygène, et des capteurs sensibles à la flamme sont utilisés pour surveiller le processus de combustion. Lorsque l’intensité de combustion chute en-dessous d’un certain niveau, une petite quantité d’air frais est fournie. Lorsque la bougie se consume, des capteurs et un orifice de sortie d’air suivent la position de la flamme. Ceci est fait en utilisant une construction faite sur commande pour un ajustement motorisé de la hauteur en référence aux données du capteur. La ressource d’oxygène est régulée par une valve magnétique qui est utilisée pour contrôler le flot d’air généré par un compresseur d’air. Le cliquetis rythmique de la valve indique «la cadence du métabolisme» actuel du système.

De plus, la bougie est directement associée à une échelle de précision numérique – un capteur de poids pour être précis – qui affiche continuellement la masse restante.

Dans l’air d’une pièce normale, 0,02 grammes de cire fondent en une seconde environ. Avec cette installation, il est possible de prolonger la vie de la bougie de 2,5 fois.

VANITAS MACHINE est une œuvre que j’ai commencé à développer en 2013. J’avais fait des recherches sur les thématiques de l’immortalité, du temps en général et sur l’idée de manipulation du temps individuel grâce à des moyens biotechnologiques et médicaux.

Je suis tombée par hasard sur une image spécifique – celle d’une « bougie horloge ». Elle montre une bougie ordinaire qui a été mise dans un réceptacle en métal, avec une balance. Lorsque la bougie brûle, on peut mesurer le passage du temps en fonction de la consommation du matériau de la bougie.

De plus, en tant que l’un des symboles classiques du vanitas, une bougie qui brûle rappelle le passage du temps, la futilité du moment, la brièveté de la vie humaine et la certitude de la fin de chaque existence. En général, la flamme vivante mais éphémère d’une bougie qui brûle représente souvent la vie ou l’âme humaine, tandis qu’une bougie éteinte symbolise la mort.

Le sens symbolique et la fonction fusionnent donc ici. D’un côté, il y a un lien direct entre un matériau organique et le temps ainsi qu’il est représenté par l’objet de la bougie horloge, de l’autre côté une bougie qui brûle et qui rappelle la vie humaine, et particulièrement la notion de durée de vie prédéterminée.

Durant les deux derniers siècles, l’espérance de vie moyenne a considérablement augmenté dans les pays industrialisés à cause de progrès en matière de conditions de vie, d’hygiène et de soins médicaux. À un niveau individuel, certains cherchent à prolonger la durée de vie par la nutrition, le sport et l’absorption de produits médicaux. De plus, dans un contexte de recherche scientifique, les causes biologiques du vieillissement sont explorées. Le vieillissement et la mort sont devenus des phénomènes biologiques à étudier et, potentiellement, à conquérir. C’est pourquoi, symboliquement, nous ne regardons plus une bougie brûler de manière passive, mais nous manipulons activement et intervenons dans le processus par des moyens scientifiques et technologiques.

Je suis ensuite tombée sur une théorie intéressante en matière de recherche sur le vieillissement. La «théorie du rythme de vie» – qui était l’une des premières théories sur le vieillissement – prétend que la durée de vie des organismes est relative au renouvellement d’énergie ou au métabolisme. Ce qui signifie qu’en ralentissant le métabolisme et la réaction chimique qui y est associée (qui est liée à un apport calorique plus faible, une plus faible consommation d’oxygène et un rythme cardiaque plus lent) on pourrait véritablement prolonger la durée de vie d’un organisme.

Comme précédemment mentionné, une bougie nécessite de l’air – de l’oxygène, plus précisément – pour pouvoir brûler. Il est intéressant de noter que la réaction chimique qui a lieu durant la combustion montre certaines similarités avec le métabolisme humain, en particulier le processus de respiration. Lorsque nous respirons, nous inhalons de l’oxygène, et, avec les hydrates de carbone provenant de notre nourriture, celui-ci réagit au dioxyde de carbone et à l’eau, que nous expirons ensuite. Lors de la combustion d’une bougie, les hydrates de carbone de la cire réagissent avec l’oxygène au dioxyde de carbone et à l’eau. Dans les deux cas, de l’énergie est produite.

En référence à la théorie du rythme de vie, j’ai réalisé qu’en réduisant l’apport d’oxygène, je pouvais ralentir le processus de combustion et le renouvellement d’énergie, et ainsi faire « vivre » plus longtemps la bougie. Donc, si l’on se base sur le fait que la combustion d’une bougie peut être comparée au processus de respiration humaine, à un niveau (bio)chimique, j’utilise la bougie comme un système modèle pour évoquer l’idée que le temps individuel des organismes peut être manipulé par une intervention technique et (bio)chimique.

Durant mes recherches, je me suis intéressée au sujet du vieillissement et j’ai également étudié les théories relatives. Il y a de nombreuses théories différentes concernant la raison du vieillissement des organismes qui peuvent être approximativement divisées en théories évolutives, programmées et en théories fondées sur les dommages.

La théorie du rythme de vie appartient aux théories qui se fondent sur les dommages. Elle prétend que la durée de vie d’un organisme est relative au renouvellement de son énergie (spécifique à sa masse) ou à son métabolisme. Plus le métabolisme est élevé, plus l’activité biochimique est rapide, et plus vite l’organisme va vieillir.

De nombreuses expériences sur des organismes modèles semblent prouver cette théorie: par exemple, il a été montré de manière établie qu’une restriction calorique pouvait prolonger la durée de vie des rongeurs de façon significative. D’autres variations de la théorie portent non seulement sur l’apport calorique mais également sur le rythme cardiaque et la consommation d’oxygène en tant que facteurs liés au métabolisme et au vieillissement.

Ce n’est que plus tard que j’ai réalisé que la théorie du rythme de vie était en réalité une des premières théories sur le vieillissement et qu’elle avait été largement acceptée tout au long de la majorité du vingtième siècle. Elle a été inspirée à l’origine par l’observation qui veut que des organismes plus larges aient un métabolisme plus lent et vivent souvent plus longtemps.

De nos jours, cette théorie du rythme de vie est relativement controversée et certaines observations semblent la contredire. Mais des approches comme la restriction calorique continuent d’être un sujet actuel dans la recherche sur le vieillissement et sont encore explorées aujourd’hui.

Je suis tombée sur cette théorie dans le chapitre d’un livre scientifique populaire dont le titre était: « La bougie claire et lumineuse brûle plus vite. » Le rapprochement entre la « théorie du rythme de vie », l’objet et le symbole de la bougie avait donc déjà été faite. Bien que le métabolisme des organismes vivants soit certainement bien plus complexe que celui du processus de combustion d’une bougie, il y a certaines similarités à un niveau (bio)chimique – par exemple, lorsqu’on observe un processus de combustion d’un côté, et un processus de respiration de l’autre. C’est pourquoi j’utilise dans mon projet, entre autres, une bougie comme une sorte de modèle d’organisme, pour évoquer les similarités et les différences entre les matières animées et inanimées et les systèmes.

MENTION DES PRIX ET DIFFUSION DE ŒUVRE

Première : V2_ TestLab, The New Institute, Rotterdam, NL – mai 2013
– Prix Ars Electronica, Honorary Mention, « Hybrid Arts » Category– 2015
– 19. Japan Media Arts Festival, Jury Selection – 2015
– Cologne Design Prize, Nomination – 2013
Cinema 2.0 : The Phantom Machine, ifva Festival, Hong Kong Arts Centre, Hong Kong – 2017
DIE, AND BECOME! Art and Science as the Conjectured Possible“, Laznia Center for Contemporary Art, Gdansk, Poland – 2016
VANITAS MACHINE (Solo), Kapelica Gallery, Ljubljana, Slovenia – 2014
– Atelier #51, Experimental Platform for the Arts, PACT Zollverein, Essen, Germany – 2013
– Cologne Design Prize, Museum of Applied Arts, Cologne, Germany – 2013
VANITAS MACHINE | CELLULAR PERFORMANCE (Solo), Max Planck Institute for Biology of Ageing, Cologne, Germany, 2013
– Annual Show, Academy of Media Arts Cologne, Germany – 2013
TestLab, V2_, Institute for the Unstable Media, The New Institute, Rotterdam, NL – 2013

FollowFb.
...

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!