MARIA CASTELLANOS

SYMBIOTIC INTERACTION

Selected Artist

Maria Castellanos [Sp]
WebFbTwInst

SYMBIOTIC INTERACTION

During the last few years I have been focusing on developping body interfaces that allow us to enhance human capabilities, while I explore the boundaries between wearables and cyborgs as paradigm for the expansion of human sensory capabilities. On the other hand, plants are living and sensitive organisms, even much more sensitive than humans in certain instances. So I used the plants in order to capture environmental data that humans cannot measure.

Symbiotic Interaction is a project where two garments have been constructed to carry tiny plants that can measure and monitor their surroundings, working as an interface for changes and relating environmental data back to the wearer.

This is possible thanks to a sensor that measures electrical vibrations in plants. Thanks to algorithms, we visualize the measurement through the garment. So, humans and plants live in a symbiotic relationship. While humans receive information about the environment thanks to changes in colours, thanks to a little screen integrated in a glove and subtle sounds inspired by a bird, the plant receive CO2 from human breath, and they are being fed and watered thanks to a drop by drop system installed at the back of the individual.

In this way we explore the boundaries between species, the different kinds of symbiotic relationship, and we dream with a future expanded cyborg, a new-being where plants and humans can live together in a perfect symbiosis.

BIO

María Castellanos is a Spanish artist and researcher; she has a Degree and a Doctorate in Fine Arts from the University of Vigo, Spain. She researches technological prosthesis, focusing on hybridizations between cyborgs and wearables as a paradigm of extending human sensorial capabilities from an artistic approach.  During the last few years her artistic practice has been also focusing on how we can enhance human capabilities using technology. She has won different production awards that allow her to produce her artworks, such as; Next Things award 2015, a joint call by LABoral Centro de Arte in Gijón (Spain) and the Company Telefonica R&D, Barcelona (Spain), where she produced Environment Dress, a wearable device able to measure the aggressiveness of our surroundings, detecting these environmental variables and warning us about them. A project with an international high-impact that has been nominated at STARTS Prizes 2016 (Ars Electronica), and also selected by the jury of the 20th Japan Media Art Festival.

Also the SoftLAb Resicency at Sliperiet, Umea University (Sweden) allow her to develop the project Symbiotic Interaction, two garments in which plants measure environmental changes thanks to sensors and algorithms, and warning us about these changes through a screen which changes colour and the sound it makes. And she has recently won the artist residency VERTIGO STARTS. An European Project EU-Horizon 2020. Led by the Centre Pompidou and IRCAM in Paris and the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft in Germany. Where she is going to developed the new project “The plants sense”.  She has also been taking part in several exhibitions and Art Festivals.

She worked as a professor in the University of Vigo teaching “Art and Multimedia Scene” in the Fine Arts Degree between 2010-2012 and currently she is working as a teacher in the Fine Arts Research Master Degree in the same University.  She also works in a educational innovation program “auLAB” at LABoral Centro de Arte, developing and teaching in the Art & Science field, developing the program “Humans & Machines” in order to introduce wearables from an artistic approach to teenagers, and gives them the theatrical and practical tools to do it themselves.  She also gives talks and workshops in different universities around the world such as; the Zokey University in Tokyo (Japan), The Lisbon University in Portugal or Technarte, the International Conference in Art & Technology of Bilbao, where she won the Best Paper Award 2016.

PRODUCTION

This project was created thanks to SoftLab Residency Scholarship at Sliperiet – a part of Arts Campus at Umeå University. Sweden.

Research Issues / Innovation

Plants are living organisms present across the whole planet. However, we don’t hear them, we can’t communicate with them, and we don’t have the capability to understand them.  But science and technology provides us the tools to make this communication possible.

In this way, in collaboration with Alberto Valverde, I developed a sensor that’s able to measure electrical vibrations in plants. We realised that the electrical vibrations changes depending on changes in the surroundings, such as temperature, light and atmospheric pressure.

But the main research of Symbiotic Interaction focuses on the algorithm, created specifically for this project that allows us to interpret the measurement and amplify electrical vibration received from the plant. We get these results thanks to the experimentation and an artistic approach. We believed that plants help us to realize our environmental and surrounding changes that the natural sensors in our body cannot detect. However, in spite of arriving to a result froman artistic pont of view, during our production stay at the University of Umea we had the pleasure to show our project to a research team lead by Stéphanie Robert from the Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences at the Umea Plant Science Center, in order to contrast our results.

So, although we are focusing on building a visual essay in order to research and speculate about how a future symbiotic relationship with human-plants would be, we realised that these kind of measure-ments could be useful for instance, to pest prevention in agricultural industry, or even to predict earth-quakes, in so much as the roots of plants are sensitive to movement.

All the technology we used comes to the field by DIY; like arduino for the program sensors, 3D printers to build the structures of the devices, or sewing machines to create the soft parts of the garments, etc.

Finally, the two garments that composes the artwork; a little screen integrated in the glove, and some little speakers in the garment, and the LED lights shows colour changes; allowing us to visualize what plants are integrating and measuring.

AWARD OF PRIZES AND DIFFUSION OF THE WORK

– LookForward Fashion Tech Festival, La Gaîté Lyrique, Paris, France.
– LookForward Fashion Tech Festival, Musée La Piscine, Roubaix, France.

FollowFb.Tw.
...

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!

MARIA CASTELLANOS

SYMBIOTIC INTERACTION

ARTISTE SÉLECTIONNÉE:

Maria Castellanos [Es]
WebFbTwInst

SYMBIOTIC INTERACTION

Durant ces dernières années, je me suis focalisée sur le développement des interfaces corporelles qui nous permettent d’améliorer les capacités humaines, tout en explorant les frontières entre technologies portables et cyborgs en tant que paradigmes pour l’expansion des capacités sensorielles humaines. D’un autre côté, les plantes sont des organismes vivants et sensibles. J’ai donc utilisé les plantes pour collecter des données environnementales que les humains ne peuvent mesurer.

Interaction symbiotique est un projet dans lequel deux articles textiles ont été fabriqués pour pouvoir transporter de très petites plantes qui peuvent mesurer et surveiller leur environnement, fonctionnant comme une interface pour les changements et transmettant les données environnementales à celui qui les porte.

Ceci est réalisable grâce à un capteur qui mesure les vibrations électriques dans les plantes. Grâce aux algorithmes, nous visualisons les mesures à travers le vêtement. De cette façon, les humains et les plantes vivent dans une relation symbiotique. Alors que les humains reçoivent des informations sur leur environnement grâce aux changements de couleurs, grâce à un petit écran intégré dans un gant et à de légers sons inspirés par les oiseaux, la plante reçoit du CO2 par la respiration de l’homme; elle est nourrie et arrosée grâce à un système de goutte à goutte installé au dos de l’individu.

Ainsi, nous explorons les frontières entre les espèces, les différentes sortes de relations symbiotiques, et nous rêvons à un futur cyborg développé, un nouvel être où les plantes et les humains pourront vivre ensemble en parfaite symbiose.

BIO

Maria Castellanos est une artiste et chercheuse espagnole: docteure et professeure des Beaux Arts de l’Université de Vigo en Espagne. Dans sa recherche, elle s’intéresse aux prothèses technologiques, et se focalise sur l’hybridation entre les cyborgs et les technologies portables comme paradigme de l’extension des capacités sensorielles humaines dans une approche artistique.
Durant ces dernières années, sa pratique artistique s’est focalisée sur l’amélioration des capacités humaines par la technologie.
Elle a gagné différents prix de production qui lui ont permis de créer des oeuvres, comme le Prix Next Thing 2015, un appel commun au LABoral Centro de Arte à Gijón (Espagne) et la Company Telefonica R&D à Barcelone (Espagne), où elle a produit une « Robe environnementale »: appareil technologique portable capable de mesurer l’agressivité de notre environnement, de détecter les variables environnementales et de nous en alerter. Un projet à l’impact international nommé au STARTS Prizes 2016 (Ars Electronica) et sélectionné par le jury du 20ème Media Art Festival au Japon.

La Résidence SoftLab à Sliperiet à l’Université Umeå (Suède) l’autorise à développer le projet Interaction Symbiotique: deux vêtements dans lesquels des plantes mesurent les changements environnementaux grâce à des capteurs et algorithmes. Ceux-ci nous alertent grâce à un écran qui change de couleur et produit des sons. Elle a récemment remporté la résidence d’artistes VERTIGO STARTS, un projet européen EU-Horizon 2020 mené par le Centre Pompidou et l’IRCAM à Paris et le FraunhoferGesellschaft en Allemagne où elle développe un nouveau projet The plants sense.

Elle a également pris part à plusieurs expositions et festivals d’art. Elle a travaillé comme professeur à l’Université de Vigo et enseigné l’Art et la scène multimédia pour le Diplôme des Beaux Arts entre 2010 et 2012. Elle travaille actuellement comme professeur pour le Master de recherche en Beaux-Arts dans cette même université. Elle travaille aussi dans un programme d’innovation éducative «auLAB» au Centre d’Art LABoral, où elle a développé et enseigné dans le domaine de l’Art et des sciences, et développé le programme «Hommes et Machines» pour présenter aux adolescents les technologies portables selon une approche artistique, et leur donner les outils théâtraux et pratiques pour qu’ils puissent en concevoir eux-mêmes. Elle donne des conférences et anime des ateliers au sein de différentes universités de par le monde comme la Zokey University à Tokyo (Japon), l’Université de Lisbonne au Portugal ou Technarte, la Conférence internationale en art et technologie de Bilbao, où elle a gagné le Prix du meilleur article en 2016.

PRODUCTION

Ce projet a été crée grâce à la résidence SoftLab Scolarship à Sliperiet durant l’Arts Campus à l’Univeristé Umeå, Suède.

Enjeux de recherche / Innovation

Les plantes sont des organismes vivants présents sur toute la planète. Cependant, nous ne les entendons pas, nous ne pouvons pas communiquer avec elles, et nous n’avons pas la capacité de les comprendre. Mais la science et la technologie nous fournissent les outils pour rendre cette communication possible.

Ainsi, en collaboration avec Alberto Valverde, j’ai développé un capteur qui est capable de mesurer les vibrations électriques des plantes. Nous avons réalisé que les vibrations électriques sont modifiées en fonction des changements dans l’environnement comme la température, la lumière et la pression atmosphérique.

Mais la principale recherche d’Interaction symbiotique s’attache à l’algorithme, qui a été spécifiquement créé pour ce projet et nous permet d’interpréter les mesures et d’amplifier la vibration électrique reçue de la plante. Ces résultats sont obtenus grâce aux expérimentations et à l’approche artistique. Nous pensions que les plantes nous aident à saisir les changements au sein de notre environnement que les capteurs naturels de nos corps ne peuvent détecter. Cependant, malgré que nous soyons arrivés à un résultat d’un point de vue artistique, durant notre séjour à l’Université d’Umea nous avons eu le plaisir de montrer notre projet à une équipe de recherche menée par Stéphanie Robert de l’Université suédoise de Sciences de l’agriculture au Centre des sciences des plantes d’Umea, pour apporter du contraste à nos résultats.

Ainsi, même si nous nous focalisons sur le fait de produire un essai visuel de façon à rechercher et spéculer sur la manière dont une relation symbiotique entre les hommes et les plantes fonctionnerait, nous avons compris que ce genre de mesures pourrait être utile pour la prévention de parasites dans l’industrie agricole ou même dans la prévention de tremblements de terre, étant donné que les racines des plantes sont sensibles au mouvement.

Toute la technologie que nous avons utilisée est fabriquée par nous-même, comme les arduino pour les capteurs programmés, les imprimantes 3D pour construire les structures des appareils, ou des machines à coudre pour créer le textile des vêtements etc.

Enfin, les deux vêtements qui composent l’œuvre d’art présentent un petit écran intégré dans un gant, de petits haut-parleurs dans le vêtement, et des lumières LED qui indiquent les changements de couleur, ce qui nous permet de visualiser ce que les plantes intègrent et mesurent.

MENTION DES PRIX ET DIFFUSION DE L’ŒUVRE

– LookForward Fashion Tech Festival, La Gaîté Lyrique, Paris, France.
– LookForward Fashion Tech Festival, Musée La Piscine, Roubaix, France.

FollowFb.
...

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!