CLAIRE WILLIAMS

AN ELECTROMAGNETIC WALK

Selected Artist:

Claire Williams [Be]
WebFbVimeo

AN ELECTROMAGNETIC WALK

An Electromagnetic Walk is an installation comprising a series of everyday objects, each one connected to a headset and an electronic device manufactured using textile techniques, a fine copper mesh overlaps the objects creating antennae that can pick up electromagnetic waves present in our daily environment.

Amplified and translated as such by sound, these antennae give us access to a portion of the sound spectrum usually subtracted to the human ear. During walks, visitors are invited to use or wear these strange artefacts to capture and collect the various sound sources.  They discover the extremely dense soundscape of the electronic devices and magnetic fields that surround us.

Place of creation

T.A.M.A.T Tournai

BIO

Working at the border of science, art and textile, Claire Williams sees herself as an artist and researcher that works between these fields, finding a common language, creating and amplifying specific interactions between different mediums. Her obsessions lie mostly around data, sound and ancient textiles, trying to materialize digital matter, imperceptible or inaudible informations found in our super saturated techno-environment.  She likes to work with unstable media, researching ways to create specific tools, usages or techniques to give us a sensitive experience in our daily environment.

In her work she mainly uses textile techniques, hacked machines, DIY electronics, open source software and hardware.

FollowFb.
...

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!

CLAIRE WILLIAMS

AN ELECTROMAGNETIC WALK

ARTISTE SÉLECTIONNÉE:

Claire Williams [Be]
WebFbVimeo

AN ELECTROMAGNETIC WALK

An Electromagnetic Walk est une installation comprenant une série d’objets usuels, chacun est relié à un casque et un boîtier électronique. Ces objets ont la particularité d’être des antennes qui peuvent capter des ondes électromagnétiques, présentes dans notre environnement quotidien. Fabriqués à l’aide de techniques textiles, une fine maille de cuivre recouvre en partie ces objets créant ainsi des antennes qui captent des signaux électriques.

Amplifiés et traduits tels quels par le son, ces antennes nous donnent accès à une portion du spectre sonore habituellement soustraite à l’oreille humaine. Lors de ballades les visiteurs sont invités à emprunter ces artefacts étranges, à les revêtir ou manipuler, afin de se promener et prélever les diverses sources sons; elles découvrent ainsi le paysage extrêmement dense des appareils électroniques et des champs électromagnétiques qui nous entourent.

Lieu de création

T.A.M.A.T Tournai

BIO

Travaillant aux frontières de la science, des arts et du textile, Claire Williams se voit comme une artiste et chercheuse tentant de trouver un langage commun entre langage numérique, sonore et textile. Ses obsessions tournent autour de la captation de datas cherchant à récolter ces matières imperceptibles ou inaudibles pour ensuite les matérialiser au sein de surfaces sensibles. Elle aime travailler avec des technologies instables, créer des outils spécifiques, des usages ou techniques, pour proposer une expérience sensible de notre environnement quotidien.

Dans son travail, elle se sert principalement de techniques textiles, de l’électronique DIY et de logiciels open source.

FollowFb.
...

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!