Alexandra Dementieva

BREATHLESS

INVITED ARTIST

Alexandra Dementieva [Be]
WebFb

Breathless

The installation “Breathless”  has all the characteristic features of Dementieva’s style such as program-matic interactivity, the aspiration to make the viewer both the protagonist and the “creator” of a work, who is indispensable to its existence, and at the same time the absence of pressure on the viewer, who is always given the choice whether to actively interact with a work or to pass by.

The installation consists of three interactive objects which can be made to radiate light. Two of them are directly connected to an RSS news feed, which keeps track of around 50 newspapers and maga-zines, the content from which is passed to the objects through a computer. Its program is set up to search words and notions related to the concepts of fear and desire.

The first object represents fear and the second desire. If the machine finds one word associated with fear an arc of light flashes from the first object. If it finds several on different news portals the lighted arcs multiply making the light spiral upwards. The more words, the brighter the object. The words themselves appear at the top of the object. In parallel and in a similar manner the notion of desire is visualized. The third object functions following the same principle. It is wirelessly connected to the street and the number of its diode lines illuminated depends on the levels of both noise and air pollution. Additionally, inside each of these three objects an anemometer, a device used for measuring the speed of wind, is installed. The viewer who has ventured into the cabin can blow on the device transforming the work with his or her breath, influencing the lighting and mutating the words into mea-ningless marks. A simple act of breathing becomes important, symbolically affecting the surrounding environment.

All in all, we are presented with a peculiar diagram displayed on the three interactive objects. The heights of its columns, which represent statistical indicators, indicate the levels of fear and desire against a background of environmental pollution. All these indicators can be glibly discarded by simple human breathing. (E. Selina)

PRODUCTION

CYLAND Media Lab, VGC (Vlaamse Gemeenschapscomissie), Adem vzw Programming and engineering by Sergey Komarov, Alexey Grachev, breath detector – Interface-Z – With support from iMAL asbl/vzw, Flemish Ministry of Culture.

BIO

Studied journalism and fine arts in Moscow and Brussels. Her main interests focus on social psychology and perception and their application in multimedia interactive installations. Her videowork integrates different elements including behavioral psychology, developing narrative using a ‘subjective camera’. Her interactive installation projects attempt to widen the mind’s potential for perception using different production materials: computers, video projections, soundtracks, slides, photography, etc. By making certain historical, cultural and political allusions, her exhibition locations create the frame within which the idea develops. The projects explore the spectator’s depths of perceptual experience and the interaction of the individual spectator with the exhibition as well as with other visitors. The subject of an installation or its production method becomes less important to her than the mind of the user. Thus, the latter becomes the center of the project or the main actor in the performance.

In installations, a main role is given to spectators. A development of video and soundtrack depend on their actions within interactive environment. They can take a meaningful action and see the results of their decisions and choices. Psychological aspects of an individual’ or a group’ behavior are important and in its turn they influence how a script is developing. It is always a conceptual structure that refers to the possibility for users to shift at different points in an evolving video narrative to other video narrative trajectories. Situations, which are structurally coherent introduce the feeling of responsibility into the experience, which itself reinforces situated immersion: the reason for this is that if you make a choice, then you are responsible for the consequences of that choice. When a decision has a sensible outcome, the visitor is aware that their next decision will have a legitimate consequence, and their awareness becomes enfolded into the experience of decision-making. This feedback loop reinforces the contextual world-of-concern, and constructs the diegetic environment of installation. 

 Sleeper, 2017 • Cycloramadrome, 2014 • The Unbearable Lightness, 2009 • Drama House, 2009 •  Monolith, 2010 • Alien Space, 2008 • Stakler/ Brain Scanner, 2006 • Limited Spaces-2/ Screen, 2005 • Limited Spaces -1/ Cube, 2004

RESEARCH ISSUES / INNOVATION

The research issue was focused on a study of mass media and all media in general as agents in the construction and perception of reality. Historically, the media have been seen as a trusted source of information, but with the rise of mass media, their reliability and impartiality and their relationship to advertising have come into question. Global connectivity and advancements in digital technology have made it for possible for events anywhere to become news everywhere. Most people tune into the mor-ning and evening news as part of their daily return, often blindly relying on the mass media as a news source. Mass media tells us what’s important – they can take trivial information and make them significant.

As a result, public opinion and perceptions of reality are largely shaped and influenced by them.

Two luminous sculptures react to word searches in news websites and are linked to the lexical field of fear, the second to desire, those two engines of humanity. In the absence of a spectator, they light up more or less according to the number of occurrences of each word in the monitored sites. They are the VU meters of human activity. Words seem to summon up other words, and the viewer is tempted to speak to interact with the sculptures through the microphone shape of the sensor. Only the breath has an effect, transitory and chaotic: it scrambles the light strips, it momentarily superimposes the action of one individual onto this indicator of global activity. Interferences exist only through the common point between human beings: the breath. A third cabin receive permanently several environmental parameters, such as temperature or noise. It can also react to a visitor’s action but differently from the two others: we need to blow a long time into the sensor to alter the light, suggesting that we need to take the time to reflect on the consequences of our actions, whatever our intent may be.

A visitor cannot change the reality of the world, but can only superimpose his/her humanity on it for a moment. the question of an individual’s impact on his society by way of technology and the reflection on the actions consequences upon the world.

Objects could be just light sculptures and can be placed everywhere giving news in a different way that we used to read and to receive. If there is an event happened in the world that is repeated by several newspapers – brighter become the object.

Meaning is more important than a technic and the work is focusing on people desire and fear.

The controller’ system was made using Arduino, 2 ventilators, bluetooth transmitter, microphone and connected to the internet by a computer via MAX/MSP 6.

Software:

MAX/MSP

AWARD OF PRIZES AND DIFFUSION OF THE WORK

– Premiere – Cyberfest, Hermitage Museum, St. Petersburg (RU) – 2011;
selected by Emmeotto Living gallery Rome (IT) (long list of Celeste Prize 2012)
– 10 Installations, MMOMA, Moscow – 2017
Bam Festival, Manege, Liege (BE) – 2016
Digitalife Romaeuropa, MACRO Museum, Rome (IT) – 2015,
FILE 2015, FIESP Cultural Center – Ruth Cardoso, Sao Paulo (BR) – 2015
– Parallel Dimensions, Marion De Cannière gallery, Antwerp (BE) – 2013
– Сapital of Nowhere, parallel project of Venice 55 Biennale,
university Ca Foscari, Venice (IT) – 2013
Public Data Explorer, HLP gallery, Brussels (BE) – 2013
Speech about Crysis, Emmeotto Living, gallery, Rome (IT) – 2013
The Timekeeper, iMAL, Brussels (BE) – 2012

FollowFb.Tw.
...

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!

Alexandra Dementieva

BREATHLESS

ARTISTE Invitées :

Alexandra Dementieva [Be]
WebFb

Breathless

L’installation Breathless présente toutes les caractéristiques du style de Dementieva; une interactivité programmatique, l’aspiration de faire du spectateur à la fois le protagoniste et le «créateur» d’une œuvre, qu’il soit indispensable à son existence, et en même temps l’absence de pression sur le spectateur, auquel on donne toujours le choix d’interagir de manière active avec l’œuvre ou de poursuivre son chemin.

L’installation consiste en trois objets interactifs qui peuvent irradier de la lumière. Deux d’entre eux sont directement connectés à un fil d’actualité RSS qui suit environ 50 magazines et journaux. Leur contenu est transmis à ces objets par un ordinateur qui est programmé pour chercher des mots et notions en lien avec les concepts de peur et de désir.

Le premier objet représente la peur et le second le désir. Si la machine trouve un mot associé à la peur, un arc de lumière surgit du premier objet. Si elle en trouve plusieurs sur différents portails d’information, les arcs de lumière se multiplient en une spirale de lumière ascendante. Plus il y a de mots, plus l’objet devient lumineux. Les mots eux-mêmes apparaissent au sommet de l’objet. En parallèle, et de manière similaire, le concept de désir est visualisé. Le troisième objet fonctionne selon le même principe. Il est connecté sans fil à la rue et le nombre de ses bandes diode illuminées dépend du niveau de bruit et de pollution de l’air. De plus, dans chacun de ces trois objets est installé un anémomètre, un instrument destiné à mesurer la vitesse du vent. Le spectateur qui s’est aventuré dans la cabine peut souffler sur l’appareil pour transformer l’oeuvre par son souffle, influençant ainsi la lumière et transformant les mots en signes dénués de sens. Le simple fait de respirer devient important, et affecte l’environnement immédiat de manière symbolique.

Ainsi, un diagramme particulier nous est présenté sur ces trois objets interactifs. La hauteur de ses colonnes, qui représentent des indicateurs statistiques, indique le niveau de peur et de désir dans un contexte de pollution environnementale. Un simple souffle humain peut aisément faire disparaître tous ces indicateurs. (E. Selina)

PRODUCTION

CYLAND Media Lab, VGC (Vlaamse Gemeenschapscomissie), Adem vzw. Programming and engineering by Sergey Komarov, Alexey Grachev, breath detector – Interface-Z. With support from iMAL asbl/vzw, Flemish Ministry of Culture.

BIO

Elle a étudié le journalisme et les Beaux Arts à Moscou et à Bruxelles. Ses intérêts principaux portent sur la psychologie sociale et la perception, ainsi que sur leur application à des installations interactives multimédias. Ses travaux vidéo intègrent différents éléments comme la psychologie comportementale, qui développe une narration en utilisant une «caméra subjective». Ses projets d’installations interactives tentent d’élargir le potentiel de perception de l’esprit à l’aide de différents matériaux de production: ordinateurs, projections vidéo, bandes son, diapositives, photographies… En faisant certaines allusions historiques, culturelles et politiques, les lieux de ses expositions créent un cadre dans lequel les idées se développent. Les projets explorent les profondeurs d’expérience sensorielle du spectateur et l’interaction du spectateur individuel avec l’exposition ainsi qu’avec les autres visiteurs. Le sujet d’une installation ou sa méthode de production deviennent moins importants pour elle que l’esprit de l’utilisateur. Ainsi, celui-ci devient le centre du projet ou l’acteur principal au sein de la performance.

Dans ses installations, le rôle principal est donné aux spectateurs. Le développement d’une vidéo ou d’une bande son dépend de leurs actions avec l’environnement interactif. Ils peuvent agir dans un sens concret et voir le résultat de leurs décisions et choix. Les aspects psychologiques du comportement d’un individu ou d’un groupe sont importants et influencent à leur tour la façon dont un scénario se développe. C’est toujours une structure conceptuelle qui réfère à la possibilité pour les utilisateurs de basculer à différents points d’une narration vidéo évolutive vers d’autres trajectoires de narration vidéo. Des situations qui sont structurellement cohérentes introduisent le sentiment de responsabilité dans l’expérience, lequel renforce à son tour l’immersion de situation: la raison étant que si nous faisons un choix, nous sommes alors responsable des conséquences de ce choix. Lorsqu’une décision a une issue raisonnable, le visiteur est conscient que sa prochaine décision aura une conséquence légitime, et sa conscience est alors intrinsèquement liée à l’expérience de la prise de décision. Cette boucle de réaction renforce l’idée contextuelle d’un monde préoccupé, et construit l’environnement diégétique d’une installation.

 Sleeper, (Le dormeur), 2017 • Cycloramadrome, 2014 • The Unbearable Lightness (L’Insoutenable légèreté), 2009 • Drama House (Maison du drame), 2009 •  Monolith (Monolithe), 2010 • Alien Space (Espace extraterrestre), 2008 • Stakler/ Brain Scanner (Harceleur / Analyseur de cerveau), 2006 • Limited Spaces-2/ Screen (Espaces limités-2/ Ecran), 2005 • Limited Spaces -1/ Cube (Espaces limités-1 / Cube), 2004

Enjeux de recherche / Innovation

L’enjeu de la recherche s’est focalisé sur l’étude des media de masse et de tous les media en général en tant qu’agents dans la construction et la perception de la réalité. Historiquement, les media ont été perçus comme une source fiable d’information, mais avec l’apparition des media de masse, leur fiabi lité, leur impartialité et leur relation à la publicité sont remises en question. La connectivité globale et les avancées en technologie numérique ont permis à des événements ayant lieu n’importe où dans le monde de devenir de véritables nouvelles à l’échelle globale. La majorité des gens ont pour habitude de suivre quotidiennement les informations le matin et le soir, et se fient souvent de manière aveugle aux media de masse qu’ils considèrent comme des sources d’information. Les media de masse nous disent ce qui importe – ils peuvent transformer des informations triviales en faits significatifs. C’est pourquoi l’opinion publique et les perceptions de la réalité sont largement modelées et influencées par eux.

Deux sculptures lumineuses réagissent aux recherches de mots sur les sites internet dédiés aux nouvelles et sont reliées la première au champ lexical de la peur, la seconde à celui du désir, ces deux moteurs de l’humanité. En l’absence d’un spectateur, elles s’illuminent plus ou moins en fonction du nombre d’occurrences de chaque mot sur les sites qui font l’objet d’une surveillance. Elles sont les VUmètres de l’activité humaine. Les mots semblent invoquer d’autres mots, et le spectateur est tenté de parler pour interagir avec les sculptures à travers la forme de microphone du capteur. Seule la respiration a un effet, transitoire et chaotique: elle brouille les bandes de lumières, superpose momentanément l’action d’un individu sur cet indicateur d’activité globale. Les interférences existent seulement à travers ce qui est commun à tous les êtres humaines: la respiration. Une troisième cabine reçoit en permanence plusieurs paramètres relatifs à l’environnement, comme la température et le bruit. Elle peut également réagir à l’action d’un visiteur mais différemment des deux autres: il faut souffler un long moment dans le capteur pour altérer la lumière, une façon de suggérer qu’il nous faut prendre le temps de réfléchir aux conséquences de nos actions, et ce, quelle que soit notre intention.

Un visiteur ne peut changer la réalité du monde, mais peut seulement y superposer son humanité l’espace d’un instant. On pose la question de l’impact d’un individu sur la société à travers la technologie et de la réflexion des conséquences des actions sur le monde.

Les objets pourraient être de simples sculptures de lumières et peuvent être placées n’importe où pour donner des nouvelles et nous les faire lire de manière inhabituelle. Plus un événement qui s’est produit dans le monde est repris par différents journaux, plus l’objet devient lumineux. La signification est plus importante que la technique et l’oeuvre se focalise sur le désir et la peur des gens.

Le système de contrôle a été créé en utilisant Arduino, deux ventilateurs, un transmetteur bluetooth, un microphone, et en se connectant à l’internet par un ordinateur via MAX/MSP 6.

 Logiciel:

MAX/MSP

MENTION DES PRIX ET DIFFUSION DE L’ŒUVRE

– Premiere – Cyberfest, Hermitage Museum, St. Petersburg (RU) – 2011;
selected by Emmeotto Living gallery Rome (IT) (long list of Celeste Prize 2012)
– 10 Installations, MMOMA, Moscow – 2017
Bam Festival, Manege, Liege (BE) – 2016
Digitalife Romaeuropa, MACRO Museum, Rome (IT) – 2015,
FILE 2015, FIESP Cultural Center – Ruth Cardoso, Sao Paulo (BR) – 2015
– Parallel Dimensions, Marion De Cannière gallery, Antwerp (BE) – 2013
– Сapital of Nowhere, parallel project of Venice 55 Biennale,
university Ca Foscari, Venice (IT) – 2013
Public Data Explorer, HLP gallery, Brussels (BE) – 2013
Speech about Crysis, Emmeotto Living, gallery, Rome (IT) – 2013
The Timekeeper, iMAL, Brussels (BE) – 2012

FollowFb.
...

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!