“There’s no such thing as a female genius:
when she does exist, it is a man.”
Octave Uzanne

A forum dedicated to innovation by women in technology, science and art at the dawn of the fourth industrial revolution / 4.0.

The first edition of Nova XX will happen in Brussels from 9th to 30th December 2017. The main events include an exhibition of 9 installations by artists from Brussels and elsewhere in Europe, as well as a presentation of 7 Brussels Start-ups, and four presentations on different themes.

In total, the festival will showcase the work of some 16 female geniuses at the top of their respective hybrid fields of expertise. From art to start-ups, the works presented during the forum will all pay testament to the participants’ unique research process and desire to innovate.

JURY
  • BOZAR
  • iMal
  • Fondation GLUON
  • LAb[au]
  • Kikk Festival
  • Iles Asbl
  • Nicolas Wierinck

 

History and our collective memory often only include a limited number stories about women or references to them. Only quite recently have women been properly included in the field of art history. In accounts of Prehistory and Antiquity women were glorified or seen as muses, and it was only much later that the identity of the ‘female creator’ was recognised. Our individual and collective identities are established and constructed based on accepted models, so we have to ask which famous female role models we should adopt.

Who has authority? Who decides what counts as acceptable or valued? Which figure should be considered worthy of reverence by those who are not revered? Few people are able to make a list of women who are active in science; even fewer when it comes to new technologies. How many people know Joan Clarke, Margaret Hamilton, Grace Hopper, Rosalind Elsie Franklin, Lise Meitner, Ada Lovelace, Ginny Rometty… compared to those who have heard of Edison, Einstein, Tesla, Kepler, Newton, Elon Musk, Bill Gates… Without making any predictions, or venturing to outline any essentialist differentiation between male and female creativity, we must ask ourselves why there is such unequal recognition and validation of women’s and men’s work.

Female creatives are still mostly on the margins of sectors linked to innovation, and they are hugely under-valued.  Science and technology, and related sectors, often prove to be Old Boys Schools.

There is no conspiracy behind all this, but rather it is the effect of the reproduction of a system of inequality.

Nova XX aims to give the proper space to works created by women. The forum also hopes to contribute to an inter-disciplinary approach by facilitating meetings between innovators in different but complementary fields. By addressing younger generations, Nova XX also seeks to discover new talent and encourage younger women to follow this vocation.

Our generation are both the witnesses and driving force behind an exceptional revolution of almost Copernican magnitude. The fourth industrial revolution – the digital revolution, including sectors such as the internet, A.I., big data, 3D printing, biotechnologies, robotics…– is leading to profound changes in society. The innovations and emerging technologies are spreading at an incredible rate.

According to the World Bank, over 1.2 billion people – or 20% of the population on earth – still have no access to electricity, yet the number of mobile phone subscriptions increased from 1 billion in 2000 to over 7 billion by the end of 2016. In the developing world, by the end of 2016 coverage of mobile subscriptions had reached 94.1%, compared with 126.7% in developed countries. In 2015, access to mobile phones among the global population increased from 0.2% to 98.6%, whereas access to water increased at a considerably lower rate, from 76,1% à 91%. The global revenue of BtoC e-commerce increased to 1,915 billion dollars in 2016, an increase of 24% compared to 2015, according to eMarketer. This figure represents 8.7% of all retail sales in the world, compared to 7.4% one year earlier. Between now and 2020, this is predicted to rise to 14.6% of all retail sales in the world. Uber does not own a single car; Airbnb owns no rooms; Facebook does not develop any content… the very concept of ownership is evolving.

Nowadays, the size of businesses and the number of people they employ is not linked to their productivity and market capitalisation. The Fourth Industrial Revolution has had a profound impact on how much capital is required to start a business, and also what size it will be.

Innovations resulting from the convergence of different technologies are no longer just found in futuristic, utopian or dystopian films: new technology is being used in digital manufacture within biology – think of 3D printing of a kidney – or in people’s work towards 4D printing, from better genetic sequencing thanks to increased processing power…  we are reaching dizzying levels of technical prowess. If the three most popular social networks – Facebook / Twitter / Instagram – were nations, then these three networks alone, while created with very limited levels of investment, would together represent 1 billion people more than the population of China.

One characteristic particular to the fourth industrial revolution is its interdisciplinarity, and the increasing coordination and integration of innovation from completely different fields.

This industrial revolution offers opportunities which are equalled only by the challenges it poses. How can we make sure that it is not simply going to lead to even more inequality – and even more fragmentation and polarisation within populations?

The inequality between those who work for a living, and those who live off capital – whether intellectual or physical – will keep growing. If we see inequality as a source of problems, if we continue to consider it as a scourge of society, then we must consider how we can construct a new social contract which also takes account of the fourth industrial revolution.

At the dawn of this revolution, it is becoming crucial to address the issue of gender inequality. This is a fact which can be measured and quantified: women still occupy only a marginal position in the fields of ICT (information and communication technology) and STEM (sciences, technology, engineering & mathematics). Women are underrepresented in the whole ‘ecosystem’ of technological innovation.

– On average, in Europe only 30% of women opt to study and work in science, mathematics, computer and new technologies.

– In OECD countries, 80% of the work done by women is in service industries, compared to 60% of work done by men.

(These sectors represent lower levels of salary compared to the domains which are dominated by men).

– According to the latest estimates by ILO (International Labour Organisation, 2016), globally women earn just 77% of what men earn on average.

– Within the European Union, women comprise only 21% of the members of boards of directors of listed companies, an increase of 9.3% since 2010 (EU, 2015).

– Only 3.6% of the largest listed companies in the EU have a woman CEO (EU, 2015).

– In 2015, 46% of men globally have internet access compared to 41% of women. This disparity is even more pro-nounced in the developing world, where women are 15.4% less likely to have internet access, compared to a disparity of just 5.4% in so-called ‘developed’ countries.

In companies such as Apple, Facebook and Twitter, 7 out of 10 of the employees are men. The ratio is even more unequal when it comes to positions of leadership, where almost 4 out of 5 posts are occupied by men.

It is also important to consider these figures in relation to other facets of diversity. According to the US Bureau of Labour Statistics, the workforces of the ten largest companies in Silicon Valley were 70% white, compared to the whole population of California which is on average only 55% white. Yahoo recently revealed that 2% of their employees were African-American, compared to 15% of the total population of the United States.

What is the new ecosystem that we have to construct, and what political, legal and regulatory measures should we use for this? What values and ethical principles should guide our work? And what vision of society should we work towards?

Women have only belatedly reached the level of creator – or, rather, perhaps, only belatedly been recognised as such. It was in 1985 in New York that the Guerrilla Girls denounced the almost total absence of women artists from the contemporary art scene with their slogan: “Do Women Have to be Naked to get into the Met. Museum?” Around the same time, a 1980 survey had revealed that in modern art collections, fewer than 5% of the artists were women, whereas women were depicted in 85% of the nude paintings.

For many years now, at international meetings in the world of digital technology, people have been asking: “Why are there so few women artists in this field?” Yet people only rarely ask the question the other way round: “Why are there so many men in this field?”

The many facets of digital creation: “augmented reality”, “audio-visual art”, “generative art”, “interactive art”, “Net-Art” etc… all allow us to harness the potential of the numerous new technologies in numerous and unprecedented ways.

Digital art makes use of – and also interferes with – the techniques as they exist in a certain period, depending on both hardware and software.

The time has come to break down barriers; there is ever more frequent collaboration between different fields of art, higher education and research. The ways in which we create, produce and attribute value to art have changed profoundly, along with the very status of ‘viewer’ and appropriation of artistic production. Digital creation is booming and this is due to the number of creators in general, but it is also due to the number of women creators, just like in the world of start-ups.

Artists, just like scientists and entrepreneurs, explore new horizons. A fundamental aspect of their work is to question their own “state of being”. This state of “non-definiteness” should be sparked off, but also cultivated and shared.

From now on it is up to all of us – men and women – to reflect on how to put these new ecosystems into practice, how to develop new and ingenious measures to encourage and stimulate innovation.

Make way for Nova XX – make way for visibility for women creators.

STÉPHANIE PÉCOURT, FOunder of NOVA XX
FollowFb.
...

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!

« La femme de génie n’existe pas :
quand elle existe c’est un homme. »
Octave Uzanne

Forum dédié à l’Innovation technologique, scientifique et artistique en mode féminin et à l’aune de la Quatrième révolution industrielle/4.0.

La première édition du Nova XX se tient à Bruxelles, du 9 au 30 décembre 2017. Elle s’articule autour d’une exposition constituée de 9 installations d’artistes bruxelloises et européennes, de la présentation de 7 start-up bruxelloises et de la tenue de quatre conférences thématiques.

Au total, ce sont quelques 16 génies féminins qui seront mis à l’honneur – qui excellent dans des champs hybrides. De l’art à la start-up, les travaux qui sont présentés dans ce cadre attestent tous de protocole de recherche singulier et d’une volonté d’innovation.

Jury:
  • BOZAR
  • iMal
  • Fondation GLUON
  • LAb[au]
  • Kikk Festival
  • Iles Asbl
  • Nicolas Wierinck

L’histoire et les récits collectifs se font souvent l’économie de mythologies et de références féminines. L’apparition des femmes dans le champ de l’histoire de l’art est un fait assez récent, muse ou défiée durant la Préhistoire et l’Antiquité, c’est tardivement que la créatrice s’est imposée sous ce statut. Alors que nos identités individuelles et collectives se sédimentent et s’édifient sur des modèles consacrés; quels sont les modèles féminins célèbres vers lesquels tendre ?

Qui a autorité, qui décide de consacrer et de valoriser ? Quelle figure serait considérée comme digne de commémoration de celle qui ne le serait pas ? Rares sont ceux et celles qui peuvent citer des femmes œuvrant dans le domaine de la science ou encore dans le domaine des nouvelles technologies. Qui sont celles et ceux qui connaissent Joan Clarke, Margaret Hamilton, Grace Hopper, Rosalind Elsie Franklin, Lise Meitner, Ada Lovelace, Ginny Rometty… et qui connaissent pourtant Edison, Einstein, Tesla, Kepler, Newton, Elon Musk, Bill Gates… Sans présager et s’hasarder à tracer les traits d’une démarcation essentialiste entre la création masculine et féminine, la question qui se pose est celle de la reconnaissance et de la valorisation asymétrique entre la création des uns et des autres.

L’implication des créatrices dans les secteurs liés à l’Innovation demeure marginale et largement sous-estimée. Les secteurs liés aux sciences et aux technologies s’avèrent souvent des Old Boys Schools. Aucune conspiration derrière tout cela, mais bien des effets systémiques de reproduction d’inégalités.

Le Nova XX entend valoriser les œuvres de créatrices. Il vise à contribuer aux investissements transversaux dans la recherche pluridisciplinaire et ce en favorisant la rencontre entre les innovateurs de champs complémentaires. À l’adresse des jeunes générations, le Nova XX vise à stimuler des vocations et la découverte de talents féminins.

Nous sommes les témoins et acteurs d’une véritable révolution copernicienne d’une magnitude exceptionnelle. La Quatrième révolution industrielle – celle du numérique qui inclut des secteurs comme l’internet, l’intelligence artificielle, le big data, l’impression 3D, les biotechnologies, la robotique… – métamorphose nos sociétés en profondeur. Les innovations et technologies émergentes se diffusent à une vitesse exponentielle.

Alors que selon la banque mondiale plus 1,2 milliard d’habitants sur terre n’ont pas encore accès à l’électricité, soit quelque 20% de la population mondiale, le nombre d’abonnements à la téléphonie mobile est passé de moins de 1 milliard en 2000 à plus de 7 milliards en 2016. Dans les pays en voie de développement, la pénétration des abonnements mobiles atteint: 94,1% n 2016 contre 126,7% dans les pays développés. En 2015, l’accès au téléphone portable pour la population mondiale est passé de 0,2% à 98,6% alors que l’accès à l’eau a évolué bien moins vite, passant de 76,1% à 91%. Le chiffre d’affaires mondial de l’e-commerce BtoC s’est élevé à 1 915 milliards de dollars en 2016, en hausse de 24% par rapport à 2015, d’après eMarketer. Il pèse donc 8,7% du total des ventes de détail dans le monde, contre 7,4% un an avant. D’ici 2020, il représentera alors 14,6% du total des ventes de détail sur la planète. Uber ne possède aucune voiture, Airbnb aucune chambre, Facebook ne développe aucun contenu… les notions même de propriété se métamorphosent.

Aujourd’hui, la taille des entreprises, le nombre de salariés qu’elles intègrent est sans commune mesure avec leur rendement et capitalisation boursière. La Quatrième révolution industrielle a profondément impacté la nature du capital nécessaire à la création d’une entreprise et sa taille.

Les innovations nées de la conjonction de différentes technologies ne procèdent plus de l’exclusive de films d’anticipation utopique ou dystopique: des innovations de fabrication numérique incorporées dans le domaine de la biologie, pensons à l’impression 3D d’un rein – aux travaux déjà engagés sur l’impression 4D, au séquençage génétique rendu possible grâce à l’augmentation des puissances de calcul… les prouesses sont vertigineuses. Si les 3 réseaux sociaux les plus populaires étaient des nations – Facebook / Twitter / Instragram – ils représenteraient ensemble 1 milliard d’individus de plus que la Chine !

Un des traits singularisant la Quatrième révolution industrielle réside dans son caractère transversal avec la coordination et l’intégration croissante d’innovation émanant de champs divers.

Les opportunités engendrées par cette révolution industrielle sont à la mesure des défis qu’elle soulève. Comment faire en sorte que cette révolution ne soit pas source d’inégalités poussées à leur paroxysme – source de fragmentation et de polarisation des populations?

L’inégalité entre ceux dépendants de leur travail et ceux dépendants de leur capital – intellectuel ou physique – va croissante. Si l’on considère l’inégalité comme source de problème, si l’on continue de la considérer comme un fléau, il est essentiel de réfléchir aux bases d’un nouveau contrat social qui intègre les effets de la Quatrième révolution industrielle.

La question de l’inégalité hommes-femmes à l’aune de cette révolution se pose de manière cruciale. C’est un fait mesuré et quantifié : dans les filières des TIC (Technologies de l’information et de la Communication) et des STEM (sciences, technology, engineering & mathematics), la place des femmes demeure marginale. Les femmes restent sous-représentées dans l’ensemble de l’écosystème de l’innovation technologique.

– En moyenne, en Europe, seules 30% de femmes optent pour les filières scientifiques, les mathématiques, l’informatique et les nouvelles technologies.

– Dans les pays de l’OCDE, les services représentent 80% de l’emploi féminin contre 60% pour les hommes (ces secteurs présentent des niveaux de salaires inférieurs à ceux proposés dans les secteurs à dominante masculine).

– Selon les dernières estimations de l’OIT (2016), les femmes à l’échelle mondiale gagneraient en moyenne 77% du salaire masculin.

– Au sein de l’Union Européenne, seuls 21% des membres des conseils d’administration d’entreprises cotées en bourse sont des femmes, en augmentation de 9,3 points depuis 2010 (UE, 2015).

– Seules 3,6% des plus grosses entreprises cotées en bourse dans l’Union européenne ont une femme PDG (UE, 2015).

– En 2015, au niveau mondial, 46% des hommes contre 41% des femmes sont connectés à Internet. Cet écart est encore plus prononcé dans les pays en développement, où il est de 15,4% en défaveur des femmes, contre seulement 5,4% dans les pays développés.

7 employés sur 10 sont masculins dans des entreprises comme Google, Apple, Facebook, Twitter. Le ratio est encore plus déséquilibré dans les fonctions de leadership, où près de quatre postes sur cinq sont assurés par des hommes.

Il n’est pas inopportun de mettre ces chiffres en regard de ceux liés à la question de la diversité. Selon le Bureau du Travail américain, les dix sociétés les plus importantes de la Silicon Valley accueillaient 70% d’employés blancs en 2012, alors que la moyenne en Californie se situe autour de 55%. Yahoo a récemment révélé que seuls 2% de ses effectifs sont des Afro-Américains, alors qu’ils représentent près de 15% de la population globale des États-Unis.

Dès lors, quel nouvel écosystème, quelles mesures politiques, juridiques et réglementaires avons-nous à construire – sous tendues par quelles valeurs, par quels principes éthiques et au bénéfice de quelles visions de société ?

C’est assez tardivement que les femmes se sont hissées au rang de créatrices et surtout qu’elles ont été reconnues comme telles. On se souvient des Guerrilla Girls en 1985, à New-York qui dénoncèrent la présence quasi inexistante des femmes artistes dans le monde contemporain avec ce slogan : « Faut-il que les femmes soient nues pour entrer au Metropolitan Museum ? », et ce alors qu’une étude parue en 1980 révélait que moins de 5% des artistes exposés dans les sections d’art moderne étaient des femmes, alors qu’elles faisaient l’objet de 85% des nus.

Depuis des années et dans le cadre de nombreuses rencontres Internationales du monde du numérique et du digital, la question est soulevée « Pourquoi si peu d’artistes femmes dans ce champ ? » Rares sont ceux qui la prennent à contre pied, à savoir, « Pourquoi y a-t-il autant d’hommes dans ce champ ? ».

La création numérique dans ses multiples composantes: « la réalité augmentée », « l’art audiovisuel », « l’art génératif », « l’art interactif », « le Net-art »… donne à saisir d’une manière inédite les potentialités de nombre de nouvelles technologies. L’art numérique s’appuie et interfère sur l’état de la technique d’une période donnée, il est dépendant du matériel (hardware) et des logiciels (software).

Les artistes, au même titre que les scientifiques et les entrepreneurs, innovent, explorent de nouveaux horizons. La remise en question de leur « état » constitue un des fondamentaux de leurs statuts. Cet état « de non définitivité » est non seulement à susciter mais également à cultiver. Expérimenter l’art, c’est faire l’expérience du changement.

Il appartient à tout à chacun.e de réfléchir dès à présent à la mise en œuvre de nouveaux écosystèmes, et de dispositifs inédits qui encouragent et stimulent l’innovation.

Place au Nova XX et visibilité aux créatrices.

Stéphanie Pécourt, Fondatrice de Nova XX
FollowFb.
...

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!