Saturday, December 9th, 2017 @ Halles Saint-Géry

OPENING NIGHT

  • 17:00: Reception of professionals in vaulted cellars
  • 17:30: Preview of the Nova XX exhibition in the presence of the artists and entrepreneurs.
  • 19:30: Official Opening with Award Ceremony
Performances: Sat. December 9th, 2017 @ 20:00 – Halles Saint-Géry

PERFORMING NIGHT

In collaboration with les Garages Numériques

20:30

Soft Revolvers

by Myriam Bleau [Ca]

Web • Vimeo

Soft Revolvers is an audio-visual performance with four transparent futuristic adult size-spinning tops, made by the artist Myriam Bleau. Thanks to sensors cleverly placed inside interfaces the spinning tops control the sound that is playing: an electronic music composition. With their broad circumference and transformation from a child’s toy into a musical instrument, these spinning tops evoke the hip-hop culture and echo the image of DJs and their turntables: the resulting sound paintings testify to popular culture, moving freely between consonance and rhythmic dissonance.

Myriam Bleau’s artwork was merited with distinction by the Prix Ars / Ars Electronica in 2015 / category: Digital Music and Sound Art.

 

Bio

Myriam Bleau is a digital artist and composer, based in Montréal. Her work constitutes audio-visual perfor- mances and installations, instrumental compositions and electronic compositions. Myriam’s hybrid practice ques- tions musical performance as a codified manifestation and seeks avenues for subver-sion through re-contextuali- zing elements of popular culture and tropes of musical history. Her work exhibits internationally, notably: Ars Electronica (AT), Sónar (ES + HK), Sonic Arts Award (IT), Elektra (CA), Mutek (CA + MX + JP), ISEA (CA), Transmediale (DE), ACT (KR).

 

RECOMMENDED BY Les Garages Numériques

21:30

SINØ

by Kika & Ivo [Pt]

Vimeo

SINØ is an audio-visual performance that explores the intersections between nature, science, art and technology. This duo’s work is based on the idea of a audio-visual dialogue between images and laser projection, moving between micro and macro-dimensions, offering a narrative that oscillates between abstraction and reality through digital manipulation.

This performance combines sound with audio-reactive visuals. It immerses the spectator into an environment that explores the rela- tionship between the virtual and physical space and explores the weak boundaries between them by influencing and dislocating the consciousness of our body and mind.

 

 

22:15

ARTEFAKT & DEFRAME

live AV by Artefakt [Berlin] & Deframe [Utrecht]

ARTEFAKT : FbSc
DEFRAME: WebFb

 

The German duo Artefakt and the Dutch collective DEFRAME collaborate and combine analog sound and image. This unique concept rests on the transformation process from analog into the digital domain.

 

23:00—02:00

DJ SET / VISUAL LIVE SET

About Les Garages Numériques

Fb

Garages Numériques (GN) is a Brussels based festival promoting digital and analogue cultures. The GN ON is a 12 day long annual festival where the public is introduced to a broad spectrum of digital arts and contemporary art. The GN ON event fea- tures exhibitions, performances and lectures presented over a period of four consecutive nights. Garages Numériques also organizes an event called ‘GN OFF’: an evening where the spectator experiences a unique journey through the digital art world. The first ‘GN OFF’ was presented at the Halles Saint-Géry in November 2016 and it is in the framework of Nova XX where the second ‘GN OFF’ will take place.

The second edition of the Garages Numériques OFF, organized in partnership with Nova XX, is an evening devoted exclusi- vely to audio-visual performances, modular and analog music. Five artists from the international scene will present a range of possibilities that technologies offer when they cross over into the field of art. Inviting contemplation and drifting emotions, the viewer is involved in a physical and sensory relationship, projecting them into the interstices of a digital future.

FollowFb.
...

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!

SAMEDI 09 DÉCEMBRE 2017 @ Halles Saint-Géy

OPENING NIGHT

  • 17:00 : Accueil des professionnels en caves voutées
  • 17:30 : Préview de l’exposition Nova XX en présence des artistes et des entrepreneuses
  • 19:30 : Ouverture officielle avec Remise des prix
Performances,  Sam. 9 déc, 2017 @ 20:00 – Halles Saint-Géry

PERFORMING NIGHT

en collaboration avec les Garages Numériques

20:30

Soft Revolvers

par Myriam Bleau [Ca]

Web • Vimeo

Soft Revolvers est une performance audiovisuelle pour quatre toupies en acrylique transparente, conçues par l’artiste. Grâce à des senseurs placés à l’intérieur des interfaces, chaque toupie contrôle les sons d’une composition musicale électronique. Avec leur large circonférence et leur rôle comme instrument de musique, les toupies évoquent le DJing des tables tournantes et la culture hip-hop : les tableaux sonores résultant témoignent de ces influences populaires, se mouvant librement entre consonance et dissonance rythmiques. L’œuvre a reçu une mention honorable pour les Prix Ars / Ars Electronica en 2015 / catégorie Digital Musics and Sound Art.

Bio

Myriam Bleau est une artiste numérique et une compositrice basée à Montréal. Son travail comprend performances audiovisuelles, installations, compositions instrumentales et électroniques. Sa pratique hybride interroge la performance musicale en tant que manifestation codifiée et recherche des avenues de subversion par la recontextualisation d’éléments de la culture populaire et de tropes de l’histoire musicale. Son travail a été présenté internationalement, notamment: Prix Ars Electronica (AT), Sónar (ES+HK), Sonic Arts Award (IT), Elektra (CA), Mutek (CA+MX+JP), ISEA (CA), Transmediale (DE), ACT (KR).

* sur proposition de Juliette Bibasse

Propositions portées par Les Garages Numériques

21:30

SINØ

par Kika & Ivo [Pt]

Vimeo

 

SINØ est une performance audio-visuelle qui explore les intersections entre la nature, la science, l’art et la technologie. Du micro au macro-dimensionnel, le duo travaille sur base d’un dialogue entre images et projection laser, proposant un récit oscillant entre abstraction et réalité par le biais de la manipulation numérique.

La performance est constituée de son appuyé par des visuels audio-réactifs. Il s’en dégage un environnement immersif qui vise à explorer la relation entre l’espace virtuel – physique et la manière dont la faible frontière entre eux influence la conscience de notre corps, notre esprit et de sa dislocation.

 

22:15

ARTEFAKT & DEFRAME

live AV par Artefakt [Berlin] & Deframe [Utrecht]

ARTEFAKT : FbSc
DEFRAME: WebFb

 

Collaboration entre le duo allemand Artefakt et le collectif hollandais DEFRAME, cette performance recourt à l’analogique et à la synthèse pour encadrer à la fois le son et l’image. La singularité de cette proposition repose sur la transformation des processus analogiques vers le domaine numérique.

 

23:00—02:00

DJ SET / VISUAL LIVE SET

Les Garages Numériques

Fb

Les Garages Numériques (GN) est un festival bruxellois qui promeut les cultures digitales et analogiques. Les ‘GN ON’ est un festival annuel de 12 jours lors duquel le public découvre le large spectre des arts numériques et de l’art contemporain. L’événement ON propose une exposition, des performances et des conférences présentées lors de quatre nocturnes. Les Garages Numériques organisent également une série d’événements appelée ‘GN OFF’. Le temps d’une soirée, le participant expérimente un voyage singulier à travers l’art digital. C’est dans le cadre du NOVA XX que s’organisera le deuxième événement de ce type, le premier ayant également vu le jour aux Halles Saint-Géry en novembre 2016.

La deuxième édition des Garages Numériques OFF organisée en partenariat avec NOVA XX est une soirée consacrée exclusivement aux performances audiovisuelles et aux musiques modulaires/analogiques. Les performances de cinq artistes issus de la scène internationale présenteront un aperçu du champ des possibles qu’offrent les technologies lorsqu’elles croisent le domaine de l’art. Les deux propositions invitent tout autant à la contemplation qu’à la dérive des émotions. Elles impliquent le spectateur dans un rapport physique et sensitif, le projetant dans les interstices d’un devenir numérique proche.

FollowFb.
...

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!